Josephine Cutts and James Smith „Van Gogh“

Vincent van Gogh (1853–1890) was a Dutch post-impressionist painter. In his lifetime, he was little recognised. In 1890, after years of mental illness and poverty, he committed suicide leaving behind huge amount of artworks, including mesmerising landscape paintings, still-lifes and portraits. He gained fame posthumously.

„Van Gogh“ begins with an introduction by Lucinda Hawksley. She sheds light on the life story of Vincent van Gogh, one of the most tragic figures in the art world.

The book offers an overview of 120 artworks, including such well known paintings like „The Potato Eaters“ (1885), „The Sunflowers“ (1888), „The Harvest“ (1888), „Starry Night“ (1889), „Irises“ (1889), „Road with Cypress and Star“ (1890), etc.

Artworks by van Gogh are discussed in words and pictures. There’s a detailed commentary for each painting and drawing. One can get to know the story behind each artwork. The historical and biographical background information gives artworks another dimension.

After reading this book it feels as if you have just visited a spectacular solo exhibition by van Gogh and taken part in lecture series about art history.

The „Earth“ without „art“ is really just „eh“…


Parragon, 2001

Check from the e-catalogue ESTER

Kadi Eslon
Department of Literature in Foreign Languages

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *